I’ve been in San Diego for the last couple days, and I’ve come to a conclusion. I am never going on a family trip again and I’m sure as hell never going on a trip on the fourth of July ever again. I don’t know why I never noticed before. Someone had to tell me before I figured it out: family trips are not fun for me. I was basically frustrated about 80% of the entire time we were there, and I know I should have some more patience but I don’t.

Yesterday, we were supposed to go to Sea World. Unfortunately, my dad forgot the one tiny detail that it was the fourth of July and so when we go there, the entire parking lot was full (before the park even opened!) and the overflow lot was filling up as we got there.

We decided we’re just going to go hang out in San Diego. Except everyone in the world was apparently at San Diego and decided to bring their cars with them. So after driving around trying to find parking for about an hour, we gave up and head back towards the hotel.

Same thing happened last year when we went to San Francisco. There wasn’t any parking anywhere and at one point, I was stuck in the middle of an intersection and blocking traffic for a full five minutes before I had a chance to move up when a horse pulling a carriage cut me. I ended up stuck in that intersection for another 3 minutes before I got another chance to get out of it. Unfortunate.

