Ah, finals. A chance to prove your intellectual prowess after months of instruction. The culminating event of the semester in academia. Sounds good. EXCEPT IT’S NOT.

Finals suck! For some classes, the only thing the final will test is your ability to memorize tons and tons of inconsequential information. For others, months of material is crammed into less than 20 questions. The following is an equation that I learned from my calculus class:

MORE INFORMATION + LESS QUESTIONS = SMALL MISTAKES = F = FATAL = F***ED = FUN(NOT!)

And at my school, they give you a couple days between the end of classes and the start of finals to taunt you! Sure officially, they’re called reading days and they give them to us so we can study, but who does that? Who studies on reading days? Not me, that’s for sure (except I actually did study for my calculus final. See mathematical equation above.)

But even though I say that, I understand that it is all part of a system (y’know, with GPAs and everything) and that exams and finals are all a big part of it. Sounds like a stupid system to me, but since I can’t think of anything better, I guess I’d better stop complaining. At least the final for my religion class took me like 10 minutes.

