So, I was on Wikipedia just looking around when I stumbled upon the Stormtrooper Effect. If you don’t want to go to the website, here is just a paragraph that explains it:

Imperial Stormtroopers in the original Star Wars trilogy, despite overwhelming numbers, professional military education and training, full armour, military-grade firepower, and noticeable combat effectiveness against non-speaking characters, were incapable of seriously harming or indeed even hitting the films’ protagonists. Obi-Wan Kenobi even comments to Luke Skywalker, when the pair finds the destroyed Jawa sandcrawler, “These blast-points… Only Imperial stormtroopers are so precise.” Additionally, in Return of the Jedi, stormtroopers are easily dispatched by the technologically inferior Ewoks, who are primarily armed with primitive weapons such as slings, rocks, and sticks.

I thought that was pretty much hilarious. And then, I got to the bottom of that page and saw a link for the Character Shield. Character shield, eh? I could guess what it would be, but I was intrigued, so I clicked on it. Basically, it is what my friend, HH, and I call main character powers. Any character that is important to the plot will not and cannot die unless the plot has a twisted ending in which all character shields are nullified and everyone dies, kind of like in Scorsese’s The Departed. But that doesn’t matter because only Scorsese could get away with an ending like that.

So, I propose that we all start writing books. Books about our lives that are constantly edited and published and in which you are the main character. I theorize that whoever does this will not die. Ever. Basically, all bloggers are immortal.

