I was determined to make this year’s birthday special. Granted, the 19th birthday is not as “special” as the 16th, 18th, or 21st, but the last 5 birthdays have been nearly nonexistent. My 16th birthday might have been the worst. I spent a lot of energy planning surprise Sweet Sixteen parties (amazing parties too if I do say so myself) for my best friends who have been my best friends since the third grade, and what did I get in return? Nothing. My family and I went out to eat at Todai, a sushi buffet restaurant that we really like. It’s not like I planned those parties so I could get nice presents and a party in return, but sometimes it’s nice when people recognize that you’ve gone out of your way. I’ve since given up on birthdays, not counting my best friend from high school’s birthday.

Even though I say I’ve given up on birthdays, it’s apparent with this year’s birthday that I hadn’t totally lost hope. This year is special. It is the first year I’m living on my own. It’s the first time I enjoy this new found freedom. I’m living in a different region of the U.S. This year, I’ve met so many new people and grown so much. To add onto the fact that this year has brought a big change to my life, today is a birthday equinox of sorts. My birthday according to the solar calendar is March 24. According to the lunar calendar, it is February 17. This year, for the first time since I’ve been born, they fell on the same day.

Do you realize how impossibly rare that is? Many people live their entire lives without it happening, and you’d be hard pressed to find someone who has had this happen twice in his/her life, not counting the actual day of birth of course. To top it off, we will not have Easter as early as it was this year for another 200 or so years.

So, I wanted, at the very least, a relaxing birthday for once in my damn life because whether I want to or not, this year’s birthday is one to be remembered. But with college come roommates. With roommates comes Mr. A. And we all know what comes with Mr. A. A not very fun time.

