As the school year comes to a close and the weather steadily gets nicer, I fantasize being back at home. I’ve always wanted to get away from California, not because I didn’t like California – don’t get me wrong, I’d live there for the rest of my life – but because I wanted a change. I’m the type of person who gets bored easily, and living in the same apartment for 17 years of my life definitely did not help. When I applied for colleges, I really only applied to the universities in California as a safety net; my real goal was to get as far as possible, though I did choose Utah over Indiana.

My first semester was the summer term and it was amazing. I only had 3 classes and the professors were in Summer Mode, so classes were relaxed and moved at a comfortable pace. The campus wasn’t packed like it is now. I made a good friend. The fact that I didn’t have to get a job or worry about money was helpful. All in all, the last summer was one of the most enjoyable I’ve had.

Fall semester started with tainted expectations of relaxed studies from the summer. I realized soon enough that I had signed up for more credits than I could handle. It still wasn’t too bad though. I managed to get most of my studying done and made more friends with the sudden rise in population.

This semester confuses me. Time really flew. There are only a couple more weeks left of classes now and I’ll be back home within a month, but the end of the semester couldn’t come soon enough. I miss my friends and family. I miss the beach and I miss waking up and not being cold. I miss all the palm trees, the pigeons, and the traffic. Yes! Even the “horrendous” Los Angeles traffic, which really isn’t so bad if you know how to deal with it. Tip: It’s a matter of knowing how to move around traffic spots via smaller streets. Like, the 405 at 4:05? No problem. Get off the freeway.

So, yeah. I can’t wait to go home. The ironic thing is that as much as I want to go back home, I don’t think I could live with my parents without losing my sanity. After living and doing things on my own for the last year, I’m not sure I could handle my parents because I’m sure they still see me as a child and not an adult, which I guess is partially true. But only the not being an adult part (young adult!).

I just really want to get back to Los Angeles where there are civilized drivers, theme parks, beaches, and awesome restaurants. And by civilized drivers, of course I mean more civilized than Utah. The drivers here are barbaric savages…

