I just got back from a nearly disasterous day of work. There is a girl that works with me. We will call her Imak for reasons that make sense only to me. Imak is a sophomore in high school. She is very short and skinny. She looks very frail and looks like she will break the next time someone whispers. Her head is big in more ways than one. Her head is disproportionate to the rest of her body and she thinks she’s the shiz. She is a brat. She always has some kind of retort, which she apparently thinks are clever but in actuality are just freakin annoying for the rest of us. She is a slow worker. She is also a messy worker. If she were to get lost, it’d be easy to find her just by following the trail of dripped smoothies. I do not like Imak.

At the beginning of my shift, I was on blend/pour/serve while she was making the drinks. I was getting frustrated because she moves at turtlelar speeds. Yes, turtlelar. As in the opposite of stellar. Like turtle speed. Our target time is to get the drinks out to the customer in under 3 minutes. When the store is empty, we usually get a time of about 1 minute and 20 seconds. At around 5 today, the store was empty and I was waiting on Imak to make the smoothies. They got into the blender at 5 minutes and 24 seconds. By the time the smoothies got out to the customer, it was nearly 6 minutes after they placed their order.

Let me explain to you how pathetic that time is. In the summer, when the lines are going out the door and around the block and we are almost always understaffed, we will hit the 6 minute mark about once every 2 hours. Imak managed to do it in the winter with an empty store. I’m not sure how I would’ve survived today’s 8 hour shift if the guy on the register didn’t want another station. Two hours into my shift, I took over the register and just ignored Imak the rest of the night.

I would also go on about how Imak does not understand the concept of teamwork but that’s for another time. It’s late and I’ve already posted like four times today.

